Uncovering The Past

Me with Andy (Shot by someone at the bar on my phone)

Part of the reason I’m doing this, is because I have resources like my good friend Andy. He’s a walking encyclopedia when it comes to more subjects that you can count. But most importantly, he shares my passion for punk. We’ve shared many a tangential conversations weaving music, politics, the scene and our experiences throughout.

He recently sent a note my way highlighting some ladies of the scene (reprinting his message, with permission).

Miriam Linna
Linna was a drummer on the CBGB scene, who played for the Cramps for about a year. She has gone on to become a major figure on the underground rockabilly and R&B circles, as a co-owner of Norton Records. She plays with her husband in the A-Bones, and has backed Mo Tucker in some of her solo work.

Here’s a link to a decent overview bio page. Here’s the Norton page.

Susan Springfield
Springfield was the leader and a guitarist and songwriter for Erasers, whose song “Funny” is one of my favorite tunes on the NY Singles comp I gave you a few years back. One blog commenter I ran across said she was one of the smartest people on the CB scene.

I would be stoked if you could use this photo of Erasers:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/sfitzstephens/91048029/sizes/z/in/set-72057594053865970/ Pic by S Fits Stevens

Lizzy Mercier Descloux
Descloux was a pioneer of the No Wave, and her first major album Press Color is seen by many as a breakthrough for the avant-guarde. She was a French art school dropout and punk boutique person who came into the CB circle and then progressed through to the Ze Records circle. Here’s a decent bio overview.

3 thoughts on “Uncovering The Past

  1. ok, this is crazy cool. I had no idea you were working on this!

  2. I’ll have a scotch and soda! Hey check out this 1977 photo I found: Chrissie Hynde, Pauline Black, Debbie Harry, Poly Styrene, Viv Albertine, Siouxsie Sioux all together. Amazing!

    Chrissie Hynde, Pauline Black, Debbie Harry, Poly Styrene, Viv Albertine, Siouxsie Sioux, 1977

    — Andy

Leave a Reply

